Jess_Quinn
Farmgirl in Training

36 Posts

Jessica
Gleason TN
USA
36 Posts

Posted - Apr 08 2013 :  10:30:01 AM  Show Profile
I graduated with a bachelors degree in agriculture last year, but my concentration was in animal science so I'm a little behind on the agronomy side. I am starting a small farm with my soon-to-be husband and I am a little stuck on my garden project. I live in Tennessee and we have basically a clay loam soil (the soil test web site says silt loam, but they are a bit off) which is making it difficult for me to follow conventional gardening practices. I have tilled and I have 10 raised rows, but the rows are clumpy and the weeds have not been alleviated. I am not sure exactly how to go about growing a good first 'crop' without the use of chemicals...to be honest, I'm a little confused all around. Any advice would be appreciated!!

"He makes the grass to
grow for the cattle, and herb for
the service of man, that he
may bring forth food out
of the earth" Psalms 104:14

nndairy
True Blue Farmgirl

2991 Posts

Heather
Wapakoneta Ohio
USA
2991 Posts

Posted - Apr 08 2013 :  10:55:05 AM  Show Profile
Was the soil wet when it was worked? That usually results in clumps. I am still learning at gardening as well, but I would say they best thing for me is to weed daily the good old fashioned way - pull by hand. So many things factor into your crops performance - water, temperature, soil nutrition, etc. Get some good books, but also keep a garden journal to learn what works for you and what doesn't. A good thing I learned was to plant some oats early then turn them under as a green manure. It helps improve your soil and the decaying plants provide nutrients for your growing crops. Best of luck to you and lets hope for more rain this year!

Farmgirl Sister #4701
Go to Top of Page

Jess_Quinn
Farmgirl in Training

36 Posts

Jessica
Gleason TN
USA
36 Posts

Posted - Apr 08 2013 :  11:22:38 AM  Show Profile