Jess_Quinn
Farmgirl in Training

36 Posts

Jessica
Gleason TN
USA
36 Posts

Posted - Apr 16 2013 :  12:07:24 PM  Show Profile
I have just started making my own compost, but I do not have a spreader (or any clue what I am doing). Any suggestions for where to buy an affordable spreader or tips on how I might be able to make one myself? Any general garden/farmstead tips would be great as well....I'm 22 and just starting out on a small farmstead/agritourism business with my fiance (husband as of June 2013). We are starting this from scratch since we do not come from farming families. Thanks in advance!!

"He makes the grass to
grow for the cattle, and herb for
the service of man, that he
may bring forth food out
of the earth" Psalms 104:14

jenne.f
True Blue Farmgirl

643 Posts

Jenne
Wagontown PA
USA
643 Posts

Posted - Apr 17 2013 :  6:00:50 PM  Show Profile
Jessica,
I am a new farmer too. I cannot offer you a lot of advice from experience
but I can offer some advice. Try magazines, like Mother Earth
News, GRIT, books like Country Living and Back to Basics. and of course, Mary Jane's Farm. Also try a country store and ask for help, whatever is local. Good Luck to you. I wish I could help more. And Best wishes on our upcoming wedding. PLease post pictures.

~blessings~
Jenne
Farmgirl #4616

"Longin' to be farmin'.."
Go to Top of Page

queenmushroom
True Blue Farmgirl

985 Posts

Lorena
Centerville Me
USA
985 Posts

Posted - Apr 18 2013 :  07:33:59 AM  Show Profile