Annie S
True Blue Farmgirl

756 Posts

Annie
Custer S.D.
USA
756 Posts

Posted - Mar 15 2011 :  4:06:06 PM  Show Profile
Afternoon ladies, we too have had warm weather of late and the snow is slowly melting on our mountain top. Michele, what would you recommend to plant as far as herbs to work with? I'm a newbie to all this, so I'm still learning the ropes as they say. We have tons of sage that grows wild on our mountain already. But I would like to put in some containers on the porch/deck of herbs - who knows, it could be the only "garden" I do although I want so much to do some "square foot" gardening in a small way (hubby doesn't do veggies, except corn). Your advise would be greatly appreciated.
Go to Top of Page

batznthebelfry
True Blue Farmgirl

1257 Posts

Michele
Athol Ma
USA
1257 Posts

Posted - Mar 15 2011 :  8:26:18 PM  Show Profile
Oh my goodness Annie, your hubby sounds like mine...corn corn corn....lol...i have finally gotten him to eat other vegs but corns still #1.
you can never go wrong with Basils...there are so many wonderful ones out there...my favorite is Lime basil.....also Thymes...I get lemon thyme every year because I just love the smell of it...but it is good in pasta as is the lime basil...or put them in a jar with water & normal tea for a great sun tea. I also do chives each year because I love them fresh...I let mine bloom because the purple heads are just as tasty. I am doing a bunch of medical ones...horehound which is used for coughs, purple cone flower another good one for colds, feverfew for fevers