Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Farm Kitchen
 Keeping the heat down in the kitchen
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Farm Kitchen: Previous Topic Keeping the heat down in the kitchen Next Topic  

earthmamaT
True Blue Farmgirl

96 Posts

Tammy
portola California
96 Posts

Posted - Jul 21 2010 :  2:25:02 PM  Show Profile
I'm new to MJF & excited to be here! I live in Sonora CA and the heat is in the upper 90's - 100's for the last couple of weeks. Trying to keep the house cool without going bankrupt from the PG&E bills is a challange. One of the ways I try to do this is by NOT using the gas stove ( WAY too much heat). So I use my fry skillet, crock pot and outside fire pit to do a lot of cooking. Do any of you know of a way to cook biscuits in a dutch oven or electric fry pan? I know it is a long shot but I am dying for some biscuits and gravy ( minus the heat). THANKS!

Tammy ~
"Be the change you want to see in the world" GANDHI

nitere
True Blue Farmgirl

482 Posts

Amy
Hickory NC
USA
482 Posts

Posted - Jul 21 2010 :  6:22:01 PM  Show Profile
I do not have a way for you, but I hope someone does. Our house does not have air conditioning where the kitchen is located. I try to keep the baking to a minimum, which is actually driving me crazy because I love to bake!

Farmgirl Sister #37
http://www.buraellen.blogspot.com
Go to Top of Page

kairosdreaming
Farmgirl in Training

24 Posts

Melissa
Pineville North Carolina
USA
24 Posts

Posted - Jul 21 2010 :  7:09:45 PM  Show Profile
If you google Dutch Oven Biscuits or Cooking Biscuits over an open fire there are a couple different ways for making biscuits that might work for you. I've heard of people cooking biscuits on the lid of a dutch oven as well. Hope that helps!

Melissa

http://checkeredchickens.blogspot.com/

They sicken of the calm that know the storm.-unknown
Go to Top of Page

1badmamawolf
True Blue Farmgirl

2199 Posts

Teresa