Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Fabulous Farm Collectibles
 *Farmgirl Barter™
 Wood cook stove for Missouri
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author *Farmgirl Barter™: Previous Topic Wood cook stove for Missouri Next Topic  

mustangmomma
Farmgirl in Training

10 Posts

Becky
Princeton MO
USA
10 Posts

Posted - Feb 28 2013 :  3:49:35 PM  Show Profile

Ok Fellow Farmgirls. I am exhausted searching the Internet looking for a wood cook stove for my farm house. Nothing sounds better than watching the flames flicker while I sit reading on a rainy, cold day. I'm also a real savvy chef when it comes to my gas stove in the city, but I've never tried to make magic on a wood cook stove. I'm expected to spend this Spring breathing life into an approx 5,000 sq ft Amish farm house and put roughly 5 of the 26 acres into food production. (So, lots of canning.)
So far I've seen the Bakers Oven & the Pioneer Stoves - I'm familiar with Lehman's - is there a retail outlet for wood cook stoves in upper central Missouri?
I have no gas or electricity except for small propane bottles and a minor generator.
I'm interested in a smaller lp refrigerator too.
Any insight will help.

kysheeplady
True Blue Farmgirl

1291 Posts

Teri
KY
USA
1291 Posts

Posted - Feb 28 2013 :  4:13:15 PM  Show Profile
Becky,
been there ... done all that to a 3800 sq. foot true Amish farm. No bathroom (outhouse) no electric, no water other than spring fed. Just a house ... Needed everything.
If you are buying an Amish farm (from Amish) they always have little community shops that sell, feed,wood stoves and so on. We bought a Margin Gem Pac with water res. really great stove,exspensive but well worth it. We bought it at an Amish store, they can order just about anything and will have tons of booklets. I would start there. Shipping will kill you if you buy on line. We now have a flame view, smaller cleaner no water res. heats and cooks great, but I miss my gem!