Farmgirl in Training

27 Posts

Kate
Upton MA
USA
27 Posts

Posted - Apr 17 2023 :  11:15:14 AM  Show Profile
Hi everyone!

It’s been a while since I’ve been a member (about 10 years) and I figured it was about time to re-subscribe! A lot has happened since then, including grad school, remarriage, moving several times, and starting fresh, so I’m excited to revisit the forum and learn some new things!

I’ll be 40 this May(!). I am a reference/technology librarian. My husband and I have two goofy dogs (PBGV’s named Teddy and Hank), and a decent sized property in a semi-rural area. We’re looking to become a bit more self-sufficient. We’ve already planted a significant portion of our yard with native wildflower mix, and we get beautiful flowers spring through fall!

The property came with a couple apple and peach trees, and low-bush blueberry, and we’re still trying to learn how to care for those. We just planted a few more apples and some raspberry bushes this week. Last year’s drought was brutal, so unfortunately we didn’t get much fruit at all, and the fruit we did get, our local critters got to first. I really don’t blame them, they were probably super thirsty!l!

I definitely want to support our native species, and a goal of mine is to devote some more attention to our corner flower garden this year. The former owner planted some beautiful peonies, hydrangea, daylilies, and daisies there. We are still getting caught up with all the maintenance that should have been done in this area the past few years…LOTS of weeding, chopping invasives down, and digging things out! I plan to add some fall-blooming species, and others that will support the bees, butterflies, and hummingbirds :)