Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Off the Grid/Homesteading Skills
 101 on how to use Brinkman smoker
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Off the Grid/Homesteading Skills: Previous Topic 101 on how to use Brinkman smoker Next Topic  

Cozynana
True Blue Farmgirl

1123 Posts

Kem

1123 Posts

Posted - Nov 11 2013 :  07:53:30 AM  Show Profile
Went to a garge sale and bought a brand new Brinkman smoker for 10 bucks. I have never used one before. Can you explain or guide me to amsire that can start at the beginning and take me through the whole process? I would really like to learn how to do this? We are farmers and have our own beef, so would like a new way to cook it. If I get comfortable smoking meat, we may buy a better one. I did watch a few you tube videos,but none started at the very beginning. I need a smoking of idiots. What is your favorite type of wood to smoke with?

thebyrdhaus
True Blue Farmgirl

520 Posts

Patty
Columbus Oh
USA
520 Posts

Posted - Jul 01 2014 :  6:36:54 PM  Show Profile
I love my smoker. However it is electric. I just soak the chips and place them in the bottom of the smoker. Change them when they have burned up. There are lot of different rubs and marinades. I use whatever chips I have on hand. I have used cherry, hickory and apple mostly. I usually get my chips from a tree trimmer at no cost.

Patty #1840

http://ladygonegreen.blogspot.com/

A rind is a terrible thing to waste. Compost.

When they had all had enough to eat, he said to his disciples, “Gather the pieces that are left over. Let nothing be wasted.”
-Jesus in John 6:12 NIV Bible
Go to Top of Page

Cozynana
True Blue Farmgirl

1123 Posts

Kem

1123 Posts

Posted - Jul 01 2014 :  7:05:56 PM  Show Profile
Patty, thanks for responding. I need to try. I think I am afraid it will not turn out right. Nothing ventured nothing gained.
Go to Top of Page

thebyrdhaus
True Blue Farmgirl

520 Posts

Patty
Columbus Oh
USA