Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Herbal Wisdom
 What herb/oil can you not do without?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Herbal Wisdom: Previous Topic What herb/oil can you not do without? Next Topic
Page: of 2

cajungal
True Blue Farmgirl

2348 Posts

Catherine Farmgirl Sister #76
Houston Area Texas
2348 Posts

Posted - Aug 30 2014 :  7:45:27 PM  Show Profile
I dabble a bit with the nutritional, physical and emotional benefits of herbs and essential oils. But, I'm not an expert and don't even know a fraction of what most you farmgirls know.

The essential oil I cannot do without is Lavender.

I'm like the 'Pavlovian Dog' with it. I put a few drops in my palm and rub it on my arms and neck, breathe it in deeply and instantly something clicks in my brain and I'm able to start relaxing to go to sleep.

One of the best compliments from one of my daughters: "Moma, you smell good...like dirt."

YellowRose
True Blue Farmgirl

6747 Posts

Sara
Paris TX
USA
6747 Posts

Posted - Aug 30 2014 :  8:24:43 PM  Show Profile
I use garlic in most vegetable or meat dishes and in sauces.

I use fresh sage, ground cumin, garlic & cayenne pepper several times a week in heirloom beans. No matter which beans I'm cooking I use my basic four go to herbs. I consider cayenne pepper an herb because of its medicinal properties, but I really know they're not.

I use rosemary & tea tree essential oils for healing.

I'm experimenting with lavender, orange, and lemon essential oils in aroma therapy; olive oils & vinegars. .

Sara
Walk in Peace - Live with Joy
FarmGirl Sister #6034 Aug 25, 2014
Go to Top of Page

sjmjgirl
True Blue Farmgirl

566 Posts

Stephanie
Mt. Vernon Iowa
USA
566 Posts

Posted - Aug 31 2014 :  10:22:40 AM  Show Profile
My go to oils are lavender and peppermint. So good for so many uses! I have amassed (sp?) a pretty good collection so far. I actually look forward to getting more oils. It's like Christmas!

Farmgirl Sister # 3810